What's Happening in Bath blog

Gold medallists are guests of honour

Paralympic gold medallists were the guests of honour at an awards ceremony for Bath’s sporting greats.

The ceremony was held to celebrate the achievements and dedication of local people in sport and was organised by Bath and North East Somerset Council.

Liz Johnson, Paralympic gold medallist and twice world champion swimmer, was at the ceremony. She said: “I am really excited to be part of the Chairman’s Awards for 2012. It is inspiring for me to meet people who are making a difference in their communities.”

Steve Brunt MBE, the blind double-Paralympic marathon gold medallist, was also at the event to present the award for Achiever in Sport (with a disability) to Kelly Hutchins, of Bath.

Chairman of Bath & North East Somerset Council, Councillor Peter Edwards, said: “I’m delighted to celebrate the marvellous achievements and dedication of our local sports people, volunteers and coaches.

“I hope that their devotion to sporting activities in our communities continues to inspire others to take up a healthy lifestyle and get active with the support of Bath & North East Somerset Council.”

The Chairman’s Special Award, recognising Achievement in the Community, was presented to Max O’Leary, of Bath.

Other awards were: Young Volunteer in Sport (16 and under) – Danny Willis, of Coleford, Radstock; Volunteer in Sport (17 and over) – Elaine Hoyes, of Weston, Bath; Young Achiever in Sport (16 and under) – Elliott Derrick, of Keynsham; Achiever in Sport (17 and over) – Annie Bartlett, of Weston Bath, Martha Beech of Bath and Eleanor Bush of Bath; Coach – Matthew Lewton from Broadlands School, Keynsham; Sports Club – Combe Down Rugby Football Club; Teacher (PE and Sport) – John Young, of Beechen Cliff School; Young Sports Leader (18 and under) – Joshua Gay and William Gay, of Newton St Loe and Aquaterra Special Achievement Award – David Lakey, of Foxhill, Bath.


This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *